EJ Parker’s Sean Smyth becomes ECA President

The new President of the ECA, the UK’s leading engineering services trade association, is business leader and respected engineer, Sean Smyth.

Sean takes over the ECA Presidency from Steve Murray. During the last 12 months, Steve played a critical role in guiding the ECA as it supported its members through difficult times, including economic uncertainty around the pandemic, materials and labour shortages, and price volatility.

Sean has recently celebrated 50 years in the electrical industry starting life as a JIB apprentice in 1973 and progressing to CEO of WT Parker Group where he grew the business by developing key customer relationships and expanding into niche markets. Sean’s expertise is in developing strategies for growth and he has completed several successful acquisitions throughout his career.

Now part of the Edwin James Group, Parker is part of a £136 million engineering services group that operates from 16 locations and multiple client sites throughout the UK. Sean remains an integral part of the Parker business as a director on the board.

As an active member of the ECA since 1995, Sean has undertaken two terms as an ECA Board Director.

Sean Smyth said:

“I’m delighted to be taking over this prestigious role representing ECA as an industry advocate and business leader.

Our industry faces significant challenges, but I am determined to support ECA’s Members and the wider industry to maximize every opportunity in the next 12 months.

I want to use my time to enable every Member to grow their business, prosper in this uncertain business climate, and be aware of all new initiatives though clear communication and ongoing support.”

ECA CEO Steve Bratt added:

“We are delighted to announce Sean Smyth as our new ECA President.

The entire ECA team look forward to working with Sean to further develop what the ECA delivers for its Members, and in support of the wider engineering services sector.

With Sean at the helm, ECA will continue to push the industry towards better skills and competence, safer buildings and a greener sector as we move towards Net Zero.


ECA Presidential team

The full ECA Presidential team for 2022/23 is as follows:

President – Sean Smyth

Senior Vice President – Stuart Smith

Vice President – Ruth Devine

Immediate Past President – Steve Murray


Image shows (L to R): Ruth Devine, Stuart Smith, Sean Smyth and Steve Murray.